General Information

The ACT College System:


Units form courses.

  • Standard unit (1 unit) is a unit studied for 4 hours per week for a full semester.
  • Half a standard unit ( . 5 unit) is a unit studied for 2 hours per week for a semester or 4 hours for a half semester. 


Courses are groups of Units in the same subject area.

  • Minor at least 2 standard units
  • Major 3.5 to 5 standard units
  • Major/Minor* 5.5 to 6.5 standard units
  • Double Major* 7 or more standard units
  • Some courses offer more than one Unit each semester, so that you can eventually build up major/minors and double majors in Courses over 4 semesters. Some courses may have special sequencing requirements ~ refer to each faculty for advice. 

Types of Courses

  • T Courses are accredited courses which have been approved as preparation for higher education. These courses provide the skills and knowledge considered necessary for higher education. T Course scores are used in preparing the University Admissions Index (UAI). For full information on the UAI see the Board of Senior Secondary Studies pamphlet What's the UAI? available from Careers.
  • A Courses have been accredited by the Board of Senior Secondary Studies (BSSS) as suitable for study by students in Years 11 and 12. These courses provide a general education for Year 11 and 12 students.
  • V Courses are accredited Year 11/12 vocational courses designed to provide knowledge and skills directly relevant to a particular area of employment and for further vocational education and training. These courses have a workplace component, are recognised nationally and lead to New Apprenticeship and Traineeship opportunities both at and after College.
  • R Units/Courses are courses designed to further a student's social, artistic, sporting, personal development and academic progress. 


ACT Senior Secondary Certificate

Your aim at Hawker College is to achieve an ACT Senior Secondary Certificate. In addition, many students will work towards achieving a Tertiary Entrance package.

To qualify for the ACT Senior Secondary Certificate you need to complete a coherent pattern of study which includes at least 17 standard units and at least 4 minors in 'T' or 'A' courses.

A course (at least a minor) in English or ESL must also be completed.


Australian Tertiary Admission Ranking (ATAR)

This statement contains information used when applying for tertiary institutions such as universities. For a standard tertiary entrance package:
you need to complete at least 20 standard units
at least 18 standard units must be made up of 'A' or 'T' units.
These units must be arranged into courses in one of the following patterns:

  • 4 majors and 1 minor
  • 3 majors and 3 minors
  • 5 majors
  • of these courses at least 3 majors and 1 minor must be 'T' courses
  • you must sit for the Australian Scaling Test
  • you must complete a course (at least a minor) in English or ESL
  • a standard package must be completed in no less than 7 terms and no more than two years. However, students may negotiate to complete their studies over a longer period of time.

Vocational Certificates

Students who successfully complete Vocational Courses are issued with Industry Certificates at level I or II or a Statement of Attainment that is recognised in all States and Territories within Australia. This qualification can help to obtain entry into:a related higher level course with advanced standing, at Canberra Institute of Technology or other institutions;

  • an apprenticeship or traineeship;
  • general employment.
  • Australian School Based Apprenticeship (ASBA)